Reference Routes

There are 5 different distance groups for the “East Rail Line Cross Harbour Virtual Run”, including:46KM, 23KM, 18KM, 10KM and 5KM. Participants can decide your own route and complete the target distance specified by each group. Participants can also choose to complete the target journey in a single session or separately according to your own consideration.

Participants can also refer to the following suggested reference routes for different journeys. The starting and ending areas are near to the East Rail Line and MTR station, which is relatively convenient.

Route KM
1) Sheung Shui Station to Admiralty Station* approx.46KM**
2) Sheung Shui Station to Sha Tin Station approx.26KM
3) Sha Tin Station to Admiralty Station* approx.20KM**
4) Sheung Shui Station to Tai Wo Station approx.10KM
5) Kowloon Tong Station to Tsim Sha Tsui Star Ferry Pier approx.7KM
6) Fortress Hill Station to Sun Yat Sen Memorial Park approx.8KM
7) University Station to Sha Tin Station approx.5KM
8) Tsim Sha Tsui Star Ferry Pier to Admiralty Station approx.5KM**

*For your own safety, participants are suggested to avoid going to the trail section alone, and recommend finishing the trail before sunset.

**NOT Including the train ride on East Rail Line cross harbor extension, from Hung Hom Station to Exhibition Centre Station, participants are suggested to stop your running records during the train ride to ensure the accuracy of the running data.


East Rail Line Stations Check In Poster

Sheung Shui Station

Station Concourse Exit A (Unpaid Area)

Fanling Station

Station Concourse Exit A (Unpaid Area)

Tai Wai Station

Station Concourse Exit A (Unpaid Area)

Exhibition Centre Station

Outside of Exit B1


Railway Signs of Times

The East Rail Line (EAL) has served the people of Hong Kong for over 100 years, during which it has undergone various changes to provide better railway services and better passenger experience. The "East Rail Line Cross Harbour Virtual Run" not only allows participants to run along the route of the century-old railway, but also aims to allow participants to savour the long history of the EAL and travel between the past and present eras of the railway. Here are 15 Railway Signs of Times, let’s run from the past to the future, cross the harbour with the EAL and witness the transformation of the railway.

Spot 1: “The oldest station” - Hung Ling Station

Location: Remains of Hung Ling Station of the former Sha Tau Kok Branch
(About 50 minutes’ walk and approximately 4.1km from Fanling Station)

Hung Ling Station located in the lower section of the Sha Tau Kok Highway near Ma Mei Ha in Fanling was constructed in 1911 and opened in 1912 as one of the stops on the Fanling - Sha Tau Kok branch. It was suspended in 1928. This is the only remaining building from the Sha Tau Kok branch and it was declared a Grade III historical building in 2010.

Spot 2: “Station of Life and Death” - Wo Hop Shek Station

Location: Chinese-Style Pavilion of Remembrance
(About 15 minutes and approximately 1.4km from Fanling Station)

A Chinese-style pavilion of remembrance located near the office of the Wo Hop Shek Cemetery in Fanling. The site was formerly Wo Hop Shek Station on the Fanling - Wo Hop Shek branch of the East Rail Line. The Wo Hop Shek branch was operated from 1950 to 1983. Initially, it was mainly used for daily transportation of remains. Later, it only served during the Ching Ming Festival and Chung Yeung Festival to pick up citizens who were going to the Wo Hop Shek Cemetery to visit graves.

Spot 3: “Station inside a museum” - old Tai Po Market Station

Location: Hong Kong Railway Museum
(About 10 minutes’ walk and approximately 750m from Tai Wo Station)

Situated in the Tai Po Market town centre, the Hong Kong Railway Museum is converted from the old Tai Po Market Railway Station. Erected in 1913, the station building features the pitched roof of a traditional Chinese building. It was declared a monument in 1984. The Museum includes the historic station building and other old railway facilities. It also showcases a narrow gauge steam locomotive, a Diesel Electric Engine and historical coaches. In addition, artefacts, train models and historical photos are also displayed in the exhibition gallery.

Spot 4: "Station connecting sea and land” - Tai Po Kau Station

Location: Tai Po Railway Pier
(About 20 minutes’ walk and approximately 2km from Tai Po Market Station)

The Tai Po Railway Pier is situated next to the former Tai Po Kau Station (near Trackside Villas) in Tai Po District. In the old days, passengers could interchange between the railway and a kaito at this pier to go to other places or outlying islands around Mirs Bay.

Spot 5: “Century-old railway bridge”

Location: Centennial Railway Bridge
(About 3 minutes’ walk and approximately 300m from University Station)

Situated near the Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Shatin alongside University Station, this is the only centennial railway bridge in Hong Kong that still has daily train traffic. It retains the design of the domed stone bridge from the time when the East Rail Line was commissioned in 1910. According to the numbers for highway structure from the Highways Department, the number of the bridge is UB17, thus it is also called "Bridge No. 17". Although the steam trains which once ran over the bridge have long since been replaced by electrified trains, this stone arch bridge is definitely a living witness to the century-old history of the East Rail Line.

Spot 6: “Station full of hipsters” - University Station

Location: University Station

The university station was named Ma Liu Shui Station. In 1956, the East Rail Line established a new Ma Liu Shui Station for Chung Chi College, which had just moved into the Ma Liu Shui area. Later, with the gradual completion of the Chinese University of Hong Kong and the homophony of "Ma Liu Shui” in Cantonese sounded indecent, Ma Liu Shui Station was renamed as University Station in 1967.

Spot 7: “Clinic for trains” - MTR Ho Tung Lau Depot

Location: MTR Ho Tung Lau Depot
(About 1 minute’s walk and approximately 50m from Fo Tan Station)

Located in Fo Tan of Shatin District, the MTR Ho Tung Lau Depot between Fo Tan and Racecourse Stations on the East Rail Line is now the main depot for maintenance works to be carried out on the East Rail Line trains as well as the testing of new trains upon arrival to Hong Kong. The original site used to be the cottage "Ho Tung Lau", and it was rebuilt as a depot in the 1970s as part of the city’s transformation.

Spot 8: “Witness to the electrification” - Sha Tin Station

Location: Exit B of Sha Tin Station

Shatin Station was a first-generation station when the East Rail Line first commenced service in 1910. In 1980s, the East Rail Line was officially electrified and Sha Tin Station was rebuilt accordingly. The station connects to multiple housing estates nearby, making it a hub for Sha Tin residents to travel and go shopping. On 6 May 1982, the then Chief Secretary of Hong Kong, Sir Charles Philip Haddon-Cave, presided over the opening of the stage 1 electrified Inner Suburban Service of East Rail Line. A plaque marking the occasion is now exhibited at Exit B of Sha Tin Station.

Spot 9: “Wooden Station” - Tai Wai Station

Location: Tai Wai Station

In the 1980s, owing to the electrification of trains on the East Rail Line, it was expected the number of passengers in Sha Tin would increase significantly. Hence planning began for a new station in Tai Wai to divert the passenger flow in the district. In 1983, Tai Wai Temporaray Station was opened to provide railway service to residents of Sha Tin New Town before the construction of the permanent station was completed. Due to the temporary nature of the station, the platform was made of wood and could only accommodate 6-car or 9-car electrified trains so it was often called the "wooden station". In 1986, the permanent Tai Wai Station was completed and the temporary station next to it was closed.

Spot 10: "Station with Multiple Identities" Mong Kok East Station

Location: Mong Kok East Station

Mong Kok East Station was originally called Yau Ma Tei Station when the East Rail Line was first commenced in service in 1910. It is one of stations still currently providing rail services since 1910. However, the Station is far from the actual location of Yau Ma Tei and. Hence the name of the Station was changed to Mong Kok Station. In 2007, to avoid confusion with the Mong Kok Station in Tsuen Wan Line and Kwun Tong Line, it was further changed to Mong Kok East Station.

Milestone

Location: Mong Kok East Station Platform 2 (end of the platform area, near the 11-car position)

This represents the measurement of distance on the East Rail Line and is used to calculate the number of kilometres between a station and Hung Hom Station. The number "2" on top and the number "5" at the bottom represents the distance from this milestone to Hung Hom Station is 2.5 kilometres.

Spot 11: "Trail of Myths" The Urban Council Centenary Garden

Location: The Urban Council Centenary Garden
(About 8 minutes’ walk and approximately 600m from Hung Hom Station)

The Urban Council Centenary Garden is located in East Tsim Sha Tsui. The original site was part of the Chatham Road Camp and also included as a section of the railway track connecting Ho Man Tin and the old Kowloon Station. In 1975, the terminus of the East Rail Line was moved to Hung Hom and the section of railway track was removed and rebuilt as a garden. In 1984, on the 100th anniversary of the establishment of the Urban Council, the garden was named the Urban Council Centenary Garden and officially opened. There is a long fountain in the garden and six Greek-style stone pillars next to it, which used to part of the old Kowloon Station building.

Spot 12: "Landmark of Time" Former Kowloon-Canton Railway Clock Tower

Location: Former Kowloon-Canton Railway Clock Tower
(About 25 minutes’ walk and approximately 2km from Hung Hom Station)

The Former Kowloon-Canton Railway Clock Tower was part of the old Kowloon Station and is now a famous landmark on the Tsim Sha Tsui waterfront. With the relocation of the railway terminus to Hung Hom in 1975, the old Kowloon Station was demolished in 1978 but the clock tower was retained at the original site. It symbolises the early history of Hong Kong’s railway and was declared a Statutory Monument in 1990.

Spot 13: "The Border of Kowloon" Hung Hom Station

Location: Hung Hom Station

Hung Hom Station has a convenient location and is now an interchange station for the East Rail Line and Tuen Ma Line. It is also the terminus of the Intercity Through Train between Hong Kong and the Mainland. Hung Hom Station was opened on 30 November 1975 and replaced the old Kowloon Station in Tsim Sha Tsui, becoming the new terminus of the East Rail Line. At the time, it was still called Kowloon Station. Later, amid planning for a possible Tsim Sha Tsui Spur Line to extend the East Rail Line’s terminus to East Tsim Sha Tsui Station, the station was renamed as Hung Hom Station.

Spot 14: "Strategic Station" Exhibition Centre Station

Location: Exhibition Centre Station

Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, Exhibition Centre Station is an important station for the East Rail Line Cross-Harbour Extension. It will become an integral part of the Wan Chai North business area and bring railway service into the commercial hub. Together with the Public Transport Interchange connected to the station, the station enhances the transportation network to foster further development of the commercial, convention & exhibition and tourism industries. During construction in 2018, three bombs dropped by the U.S. Air Force during World War II were discovered during the ongoing works and were safely removed or detonated. After the opening of Exhibition Centre Station, a remaining part of one of the bombs will be displayed for passengers to learn more about the history of Wan Chai.

Spot 15: "Super Station" Admiralty Station

Location: Admiralty Station

Admiralty Station was opened on 12 February 1980 and has always played a role as an important interchange station. After the commencement of the East Rail Line Cross-Harbour Extension, Admiralty Station will become the new terminus of the East Rail Line and a junction for the Tsuen Wan Line, Island Line, South Island Line and East Rail Line, becoming the only mega interchange station in the MTR network with four-line interchange.

The "Most" of Admiralty Station:
Most platforms: 8
Most trains types passing by: 8-car, 3-car, 9-car
Most underground levels: 6 levels underground


Photo-worthy Spots

To facilitate the service commencement of the EAL cross-harbour extension, new 9-car trains have already come into full operation to provide a better passenger experience. Here are 4 Photo-worthy Spots to get a closer look at the new trains and the modern railway system.

Spot 1: Fanling Station Kai Leng footbridge

Location: Kai Leng footbridge
(About 10 minutes’ walk and approximately 800m from Fanling Station)

Located next to Ka Shing Court, Kai Leng footbridge crosses Fanling Highway, San Wan Road and the East Rail Line. You can feel the trains passing under your feet!

Spot 2: Sha Tin Station Wai Wah Centre footbridge

Location: Wai Wah Centre footbridge
(About 5 minutes’ walk and approximately 500m from Sha Tin Station)

From Exit A3 at Sha Tin Station, take the right side road at the Citylink Plaza interchange, pass through New Town Plaza and Wai Wah Centre. Standing on the footbridge, you can clearly see the East Rail Line trains heading north and south.

Spot 3: Kowloon Tong Festival Walk footbridge

Location: Festival Walk footbridge
(About 2 minutes’ walk and approximately 100m from Kowloon Tong Station)

From this footbridge located at Festival Walk, you can get a glimpse of East Rail Line trains entering and leaving the platforms at Kowloon Tong Station.

Spot 4: Mong Kok East Station Exit D Prince Edward Road West

Location: Prince Edward Road West
(About 5 minutes’ walk and approximately 600m from Mong Kok East Station)

From Prince Edward Road West, the public can closely witness East Rail Line trains.

跑手參考路線

東鐵過海綫上跑設有5個不同里數:46公里、23公里、18公里、10公里及5公里。參加者可自訂路線以完成各組別指定的目標路程。參加者亦可根據體能及時間,一次或分開多次完成相關組別的目標里數。

參加者亦可參考以下不同路程的參考路線,起點和終點均鄰近東鐵綫及港鐵車站,更為方便。

路線 長度(公里)
1) 上水站 - 金鐘站* 約46公里**
2) 上水站 - 沙田站 約26公里
3) 沙田站 - 金鐘站* 約20公里**
4) 上水站 - 太和站 約10公里
5) 九龍塘站 - 尖沙咀天星碼頭 約7公里
6) 炮台山站- 中山紀念公園 約8公里
7) 大學站 - 沙田站 約5公里
8) 尖沙咀天星碼頭 - 金鐘站 約5公里**

*為安全起見,參加者應盡量避免單獨前往山徑路段,並建議在日落前兩小時完成山徑行程。

**包括乘搭東鐵綫過海段,鐵路由紅磡站前往會展站路程。請參加者在乘搭列車途中暫停跑步紀錄,以確保資料準確。


東鐵站打卡海報

上水站

車站大堂近A出入口的非付費區

粉嶺站

車站大堂近A出入口的非付費區

大圍站

車站大堂近A出入口的非付費區

會展站

B1出入口外


鐵路歲月軌跡景點

東鐵綫服務香港市民過百年,當中經歷過種種變遷,以提供更完善的鐵路服務及更優質的乘客體驗。「東鐵過海綫上跑」除了讓參加者跑過這條百年鐵路,亦希望讓參加者在活動期間細味東鐵綫的悠久歷史,跨越時代並穿梭鐵路今昔。以下將介紹15個鐵路歲月軌跡景點,讓我們從過去奔向未來,乘著東鐵綫穿越過海,一同打卡見證鐵路轉變。

第一站︰「最老的車站」洪嶺站

地點: 沙頭角支線洪嶺站遺蹟
(粉嶺站步行距離約4.1公里,需時約50分鐘)

位於新界粉嶺沙頭角公路 - 馬尾下段的洪嶺站(又稱孔嶺站 )建於1911年,並於1912年啟用 ,成為東鐵綫的粉嶺 - 沙頭角支綫其中一個中途站,並於1928年停用。這是現時整條沙頭角支線唯一尚存的建築物 ,並於2010年獲評為香港三級歷史建築。

第二站︰「告別式的車站」和合石站

地點︰中式紀念亭
(粉嶺站步行距離約1.4公里,需時約15分鐘)

位於粉嶺和合石墳場辦事處附近的中式紀念亭,原址前身是東鐵綫的粉嶺 – 和合石支綫的和合石站。 和合石支綫曾於1950年至1983年期間營運,初期主要作日常運送遺體之用,後來只於清明節和重陽節服務以接載前往和合石墳場掃墓的市民。

第三站︰「博物館內的車站」舊大埔墟站

地點︰香港鐵路博物館
(太和站步行距離約750米,需時約10分鐘)

香港鐵路博物館位於大埔墟市中心,前身為舊大埔墟站。舊大埔墟站大樓建於1913年,以中國式金字頂作設計 ,並於1984年被列為法定古蹟。博物館除了保留舊火車站古蹟和其他鐵路設備外,更展出窄軌蒸汽火車頭、柴油電動機車和歷史車卡。除此之外,博物館的展覽廳亦展出文物、火車模型和歷史圖片等 。

第四站︰「海陸連接的車站」大埔滘站

地點︰大埔鐵路碼頭
(大埔墟站步行距離約2公里,需時約20分鐘)

大埔鐵路碼頭位於新界大埔區已停用的東鐵綫大埔滘站(現為策誠軒)旁邊。當年,乘客到達大埔滘站後可於此碼頭轉乘街渡,前往其他地方或大鵬灣一帶的離島。

第五站︰「百年悠久的火車橋」

地點︰百年火車橋
(大學站步行距離約300米,需時約3分鐘)

位於大學站沙田凱悅酒店附近, 這是是香港現存唯一一條仍每日有列車通行的百年火車橋,並保留着東鐵綫於1910年通車時的圓拱石橋設計。根據路政署道路構築物編號,此百年火車橋的編號為UB17,故亦有人稱之為「17號橋」。雖然橋上行駛的蒸汽火車已變成電氣化列車,但這條石拱橋絕對是東鐵綫百年歷史的活見證。

第六站︰「最多文青的車站」大學站

地點︰大學站

大學站前稱為馬料水站。1956年,東鐵綫為剛遷入馬料水的崇基學院新設了馬料水站。後來,隨著香港中文大學逐步落成,而且「馬料水」與「馬尿水」同音,聽起來並不雅正,馬料水站便在1967年改名為大學站。

第七站︰「列車診所」港鐵何東樓車廠

地點︰港鐵何東樓車廠
(火炭站步行距離約50米,需時約1分鐘)

位於新界沙田區火炭,於東鐵綫火炭站和馬場站之間的港鐵何東樓車廠現為東鐵綫列車進行維修工程、新車抵港後測試的主要車廠 。原址曾為別墅「何東樓」,並於1970年代改建成今日的鐵路維修廠, 印證城市變遷。

第八站︰「見證電氣化的車站」沙田站

地點︰沙田站B出口

沙田站屬於1910年東鐵綫首次通車時的第一代車站。1980年代,東鐵綫正式邁向鐵路電氣化,沙田站亦因而重建。車站接駁鄰近多個大型屋苑,令車站成為沙田區巿民出行及購物樞紐。1982年5月6日,時任香港布政司夏鼎基爵士主持了東鐵綫第一期近郊電氣化火車啟用典禮 ,紀念牌匾現時於沙田站B出口展出。

第九站︰「木頭的車站」大圍站

地點︰大圍站

1980年代,由於東鐵綫進行列車電氣化,預料沙田區乘客將會大增,所以決定在大圍興建車站以分流客量。1983年,大圍臨時站啟用,務求在永久車站落成前盡快向沙田新市鎮居民提供鐵路服務。由於車站屬臨時性質,月台皆以木頭建成,僅能容納六個或九個電氣化火車車卡,因此曾有「木頭站」之稱。1986年,永久大圍站正式落成,旁邊的臨時車站亦停用 。

第十站︰「多重身份的車站」旺角東站

地點︰旺角東站

旺角東站是東鐵綫最初通車時啟用且仍在提供鐵路服務的其中一個車站。旺角東站最初稱為油麻地站,並於1910年啟用。然而,由於車站與油麻地實際位置相距甚遠,因此在1969年更改站名為旺角站 。2007年,為避免與荃灣綫和觀塘綫的旺角站混淆,便更名為現時的旺角東站。

里程碑

地點︰旺角東站2號月台近11卡列車

此為東鐵綫的公里系統,用以計算車站與紅磡站的距離。上面的數字「2」與下面的數字「5」,代表此處與紅磡站的距離為2.5公里。

第十一站︰「神話的軌跡」市政局百週年紀念花園

地點︰市政局百週年紀念花園
(紅磡站步行距離約600米,需時約8分鐘)

市政局百週年紀念花園位於九龍尖沙咀東部,原址曾是是漆咸道軍營的一部分,及九廣鐵路連接何文田及舊九龍站之間其中一段的路軌。1975年,東鐵綫改以紅磡站作為終點站後,路軌被拆除,並在原址重建為花園。1984 年,適逢市政局成立100週年,花園便因而名為市政局百週年紀念花園並正式啟用。花園內有一座長形噴水池,旁邊六個希臘式石柱便是舊九龍站建築的一部分。

第十二站︰「時空的地標」前九廣鐵路鐘樓

地點︰前九廣鐵路鐘樓
(紅磡站步行距離約2公里,需時約25分鐘)

前九廣鐵路鐘樓屬於舊九龍站的一部分,現為香港尖沙咀海旁的著名地標。隨着東鐵綫總站於1975年遷往紅磡,舊九龍站的大樓於1978年拆卸,並於原址保留車站的鐘樓,是見證香港鐵路早期歷史的標誌,並於1990年被列為法定古蹟 。

第十三站︰「九龍邊界的車站」紅磡站

地點︰紅磡站

地理位置方便的紅磡站,現時是東鐵綫與屯馬綫的轉綫站,同時亦是香港來往內地的城際直通車終點站。紅磡站於1975年11月30日啟用,以取代位於尖沙咀的舊九龍站,成為當時東鐵綫新的總站,並名為九龍站。後來,東鐵綫計劃發展尖沙咀支線,並建議將東鐵綫的總站延伸至位於尖沙咀東部的尖東站,故將九龍站改名為紅磡站。

第十四站︰「處於戰略位置的車站」會展站

地點︰會展站

會展站是東鐵綫過海段的重要一站,毗鄰香港會議展覽中心,成爲灣仔北商業區的一部分,將鐵路服務帶入商貿核心地帶,連同連接車站地面的公共運輸交匯處,勢將帶動本港的商貿、會議、展覽及旅遊業的發展。然而,會展站曾經歷一個「爆炸性的危機」。2018年, 興建中的會展站曾先後發現3枚二戰時期的炸彈,屬美軍的空投炸彈。啟用後的會展站將展出其中一枚彈殼,讓乘客更了解灣仔區的歷史。

第十五站︰「超級車站」金鐘站

地點︰金鐘站

金鐘站於1980年2月12日啟用,一直擔當著重要轉綫站角色。東鐵綫過海段通車後,金鐘站更會成為東鐵綫的新終點站。金鐘站將會是荃灣綫、港島綫、南港島綫與東鐵綫的交匯點,成為港鐵網絡內唯一四綫轉乘的樞紐,更為方便快捷、四通八達。

車站之最︰
最多月台: 8 個; 服務最多款式列車: 8卡,3卡,9卡; 最多地底層數車站: 6層;


與列車打卡勝地

為配合東鐵綫過海段通車,新的9卡列車已逐漸投入服務,為乘客帶來更穩定舒適的旅程。以下將介紹4個與列車打卡勝地,讓你近距離一睹新列車的英姿,帶領你穿梭於現代鐵路之中。

第一站︰粉嶺站雞嶺橋

地點︰ 雞嶺橋
(粉嶺站步行距離約800米,需時約10分鐘)

位於粉嶺嘉盛苑旁,橫跨粉嶺公路、新運路及東鐵綫路軌上的「雞嶺橋」,遇上東鐵綫列車經過時,可以感受到列車在腳下穿過的感覺。

第二站︰沙田站偉華中心天橋

地點︰偉華中心天橋
(沙田站步行距離約500米,需時約5分鐘)

天橋位於港鐵沙田站A3出口,經連城廣場交界位置右側小路,穿過新城市廣場及偉華中心即可到達。置身於天橋上,可以清晰看到南行或北行的東鐵綫列車 。

第三站︰九龍塘站又一城天橋

地點︰又一城天橋
(九龍塘站步行距離約100米,需時約2分鐘)

位於九龍塘又一城的天橋,可以一睹東鐵綫列車進出月台的風采。

第四站︰旺角東站D出口太子道西

地點︰太子道西
(旺角東站步行距離約600米,需時約5分鐘)

位於旺角東站D出口的太子道西,市民可近距離看見東鐵綫列車。